Sadhvi Sez:

SADHVI

I’m back after taking a little break from posting on Oops50.  It’s not that I didn’t have anything to share; the truth is that so much has been going on that I didn’t know what to post!  I decided to see how long we’ve been doing this blog just now, and to my surprise, it’s been over 3 years that me and my friends, Annice and Jane, have been sharing what is relevant to us in the moment here on this site.  Wow.  Three years is a long time!  The posts are longer than a comment on FaceBook; longer than a tweet on Twitter, and longer than a text.  This is my way of connecting and I just want to say thanks for reading our posts!

We went to see a movie the other night.  It was so much fun and enjoyable that you should go see it too.  It’s the new one with Judi Dench, one of my all-time favorite actresses.  Whatever movie comes out with her in it, I go see it.  The same is true for any movie with Meryl Streep, Kate Winslet, Kevin Kline, and Johnny Depp.  I don’t like to do a lot of review checking before I go see something with them in it; I like to be surprised.  I just knew that this new movie was shot mostly in India.  It’s called, “The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel”.

.

It’s about some old folks who see an ad for a retirement place in Jaipur, India that sounds like a good place to retire.  They don’t know each other in the beginning, but become close when they all arrive at The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel for the Elderly and Beautiful.

The sights of India stir something in me that makes me smile.  Unpredictability, long waits, dangerous bus rides with people giving birth and dying around me, a feeling of being at home and relaxed that I have never been able to touch in the US.

Interestingly, what hit me at first was how both Maggie Smith and Judi Dench look old.  I mean, really old.  Not the Hollywood-face-lift type of old.  It was shocking to see their faces without the Photoshop touch ups that one sees on every single magazine cover in the checkout line at the grocery store of every single actor or actress.  It’s a pity, really, that as a society, we can’t take the truth of getting older.  After a short while, I started to enjoy seeing these women as they are, and started to find them beautiful to look at.  Refreshing even.  The inner beauty of being who one is.  And they are old.  So that is how they should look!

I visited India many times in the 80’s and 90’s to see my guru.  And at the end of the film, I wanted to jump on a plane to go again.  There is definitely a fascination that India holds for me.  After twenty-some odd years since my last visit, I know that I would find cell phone towers everywhere (I’ve heard they are in many of the rickshaws now!), and I hate cell phone towers.  It wouldn’t be the same, of course.  I mean, my guru died in ’91, so if I went, it really would be to explore.

Such good actors…take a break and go see this movie; it’s like going to India without the hassle.  And I have a feeling you will be smiling when you leave the cinema.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

