.

It’s still winter and yes, I still feel like hibernating.  With the temperature in the 50’s with sunshine this past week (month? winter?), we spent time outside trimming the fruit and flowering bushes.  I am smitten with raspberries.  And gooseberries and currants and blueberries too.  So to get the best harvest, I will do what it takes to make them thrive.

I really like making elderberry syrup too, but have had to buy elderberries since ours have not done well.  It turns out they don’t like root competition, and there were many creeping vines entangling theirs, along with an old black walnut tree that was still alive, right above.  So we dug them up and moved all 6 of them to a better place.  It was quite a chore, but we like physical work, and since this is something that needed to be done now for several years, it felt good once finished.

I’ve started to think about the things I want to grow in the garden, and where they will be. Today I’ll be planting some slow-growing things like “celery root” today, from seed.  It takes a long time, and I don’t find the young plants at the markets around here much.  And, planting from seed is just so simple.

It’s planting time until next week. I’ll be placing poppy seeds around the beds now too…already getting excited to see their beauty in a few months.

I found this clip a few days ago (above).  I grew up in an era of incredible music.  I knew what psychedelic meant without having to take acid, because I listened to the music of those that did.  And, I was about 11 years old when the song “White Bird” by It’s a Beautiful Day came out and wasn’t exactly in the position of scoring any good stuff.  I was more into reading and coloring.  That sounds so old-fashioned, doesn’t it?  Reading and coloring…

But when it was time to dance, disco was coming on the scene and that’s what got me out of my chair.  Seeing John Travolta dance in “Saturday Night Fever” back in 1977 was the beginning of the thrill of seeing him dance in every movie he’s made after that.  Do watch the clip.  It’s good to feel something good these days.  Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

