Oops50: Sadhvi’s Apple Charlotka

.

After realizing that I only spent 3 minutes, 10 times a day on FB (which isn’t much “computer time” really) I decided to try and see how many hours a day I did spend on the computer.  It turns out I average around 5 hours.  By stopping FB, I had only managed to cut out 3.5 hours per week.  Hmmm.

I thought it would be interesting to find out how I compared with my friends, and found out that retired and working people alike spend about the same amount of time, an average of 8.5 hours a day…reading books, watching YouTube, texting, answering emails, being in chat rooms, playing games, working…whatever.  Some were on for around 16 hours per day, while others were just on it an hour.

I realize this is the norm now, this being on the computer for hours and hours.  It’s even replaced and surpassed the amount of time spent watching TV.  I went to get my eyes examined the other day, and my eye Dr. told me that I should get a pair of glasses that I use just for the computer, to avoid eye strain, which I do have.

So since I can’t cut down much more, I can take breaks: baking, gardening, painting.

Apple Charlotka

Here’s a recipe from the <a href="http://smittenkitchen.com/2012/01/apple-sharlotka/-8099″>Smitten site (one of the few food blogs that I like) that I have modified to make gluten-free.  It’s easy, not too sweet, and very yummy. The original recipe calls for all-purpose flour.

Sadhvi’s Apple Charlotka

Butter or nonstick spray, for greasing the pan

  • 6 large tart Apples, like a Granny Smith
  • 3 large Eggs
  • 1/2 cup Sugar
  • …and another 1/2 cup Sugar to sprinkle on top towards the end of the baking time in the oven
  • 1 t. Cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon Vanilla extract
  • 1 cup of Pamela’s Baking & Pancake Mix (this replaces the flour, it is gluten-free, and, it tastes good!)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

Line the bottom of a 9-inch springform pan with parchment paper.

Butter the paper and the sides of the pan.

Peel, halve and core apples, then chop them into medium-sized chunks.

Put the cut apples directly in the prepared pan.

Meanwhile in a large bowl, using an electric mixer or whisk, and beat eggs with sugar until thick.

Beat in vanilla, then add the cinnamon.

Now stir in Pamela’s Baking & Pancake Mix with a spoon until just combined. (The batter will be very thick.)

Pour batter over apples in pan, using a spoon or spatula to spread the batter so that it covers all exposed apples. (i.e. spread the batter and press it down into the apple pile. The top of the batter should end up level with the top of the apples.)

Bake in preheated oven for 45 minutes or so.

Then sprinkle that other 1/2 cup of sugar on top.

Bake another 5 minutes or so.

Now move the pan up a rack, and put on Broil.  (At this point, watch the cake to make sure it does not burn!)

When done, cool in pan for 10 minutes on rack, then flip out onto another rack, peel off the parchment paper, and flip it back onto a serving platter.

Eat plain, warm or at room temperature, with some whipped cream or sour cream on top to get fancy, if desired.

Enjoy!

It’s Good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

