Woman over 50: Lowe’s and Garage Door Openers

Annice

Saturday I went to Lowe’s on an errand to see if I could find a new garage door opener because ours no longer worked.  Being a woman over 50, it seemed like a pretty easy thing to do, right?   Before leaving, I asked my husband what the make of the garage door opener was and he informed me it was an Amarr.

Garage door opener

After about ten minutes, I finally found someone to help me.  That someone’s badge said Assistant Manager.  I proceeded to ask him what I thought was a simple question,  “Do you carry Amarr garage openers?”

“Sure,” he said, showing me a motorized piece of equipment.

Me:  “No, not that.  The opener, the thing that opens the garage.”

Assistant Mgr.  “Well, if you’re talking about the garage opener, that’s it.”

Me:  Totally confused.

Assistant Mgr.:  “Okay, let me ask it this way; when you press the button on the wall inside the garage to open and close the door, does it work?”

I assured him that was exactly the situation I had.

Him:  “Well, then the garage opener is working.  So, do you mean the clicker to open the garage door?”

Me:  “Yup, I guess I mean the clicker.  Not the garage door opener.  Do you have an Amarr Clicker?”

Him:  “No, I don’t.  I’m not sure they make them.  Are you sure your clicker says Amarr?”

Again, I assured him it did.

Him:  “What about a universal clicker?”  He walks over to hand me a small package.

Me:  “What’s a universal clicker?”

Him:  “It should fit most garage door openers, and it’s very easy to program, by the way.”

The word most scared me.  I looked over the package ($39.95) and noticed at least a dozen names but not Amarr.  Amarr was not listed.

Universal Clicker

The Assistant Mgr. sensed I was not a happy shopper.  “Well, I’m thinking it will work.  You can buy it, contact the company, and if it works, you’re all set.  If not, just bring it back.”

Totally frustrated, I bought the damn Universal Clicker, and immediately went on-line to ask if the Universal Clicker works with an Amarr garage door opener.

Within minutes I got a response telling me they would get back to me within 24 hours.  This morning I got my response.

“Thank you for contacting Chamberlain Technical Support.  Amarr is a private label opener made by another company.  Please look on the motor head, you will see additional information.  For example the opener might be made by Genie or Overhead Door or Wayne Dalton.  Please provide additional information from the motor head.  Should you encounter any problems, or if you have any further questions, please feel free to respond via email, or if you’d prefer, I can call you if you provide a phone number and a good time to call you.  Our work hours are M-F, 5:00 A.M. – 6:00 P.M. Mountain Time.

Photo from Amarr Technicl Support

OMG – Why language are they speaking?  Or, is it just me?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

