Sadhvi Sez: Visualize Hope (and bake a Swiss Linzer Torte)

SADHVI’S SWISS LINZER TORTE

A lot has happened since I had that dream of Arianna Huffinton wanting me to be her friend on FaceBook.  The earthquake in Japan.  The Tsunami in Japan.  The Nuclear Nightmare in Japan.  Coming to terms with my heart opening and crying for what seemed like a long, long time.  People all around not really feeling it.  As if, since it didn’t happen here, and there is nothing to be done about it, well, Japan will recover.  Something feels broken to me and something feels more insane in the world.  I feel both scared and relaxed a lot of the time.  I  turned 53 last week, and I woke up to having jowls, just like all the women on my mother’s side of the family.

THE FIRST SPRING CROCUS

Spring has come.  And here where I live it feels already like summer.

I also made one of my favorite things to eat, something that I have not made for maybe 20 years:  A Swiss Linzer Torte.  The recipe I want to share is exactly the same kind you would find in any Bakery in Switzerland, and boy, it is good.  Which made me happy, and made me feel like there is hope.

This recipe is easy and is truly divine.  Oh, I know that the metric is a drag, but only if you don’t have that manual metric scale that is very affordable and ever so easy to use like I have.  Don’t go to Amazon, Google it and shop someplace local, so that you can get it in person, Ok?  Because if you order it from Amazon, and it is broken, you will not be able to return it to Amazon, etc.  I am trying to spare you from having the nightmares that I have had with them on more than one occasion.  I try not to get anything on Amazon.  No customer service.  No, I mean, horrible customer service.  In fact, before I forget to tell you, if you like to buy books, go to Better World Books online.  They are a great company with great prices on new and used books, and they contribute money to promote literacy and help fund libraries.  Oh, and they have free shipping.  Thank you Tosh for sharing that site.  Ok, here is the recipe:  Here is to things getting better everywhere.

Sadhvi’s Swiss Linzer Torte

(preheat oven 400 F about half way through this recipe)

200 g. soft Butter (7 oz)

200 g. Sugar (7 oz)

2 Eggs

1 pinch Salt

1 t. Cinnamon

1 “tip-of-the-knife” bit of ground Cloves

1 T. Chocolate Powder, or the same of grated Dark Chocolate

200 g. ground Almonds (7 oz.)

250 g. Flour (a little less than 9 oz)

Butter for the 11 inch springform pan, or a tart pan

400 g. Raspberry Jam (14 oz.)

(I used a couple of spoons of some Red Currant Jam that I had too)

1 egg, beaten with a fork, to paint over the top of the crust

a.) Mix the Butter and the Sugar in a bowl.  Add the Eggs, Salt, Spices, Chocolate Powder and ground Almonds

b.) Sift the Flour into the mix and quickly make into a dough ball.  Put in the fridge for 30 minutes.

c.) Divide the dough ball into 4 parts.  Take 2 and roll them out and put in the bottom of your pan.  With the 3rd part, roll it out, length-wise about finger thick, and place around the edge of the pan.

d.) Spread the jam on the bottom

e.) Roll out the last portion of the dough out onto some parchment paper, oh about 1/16th of an inch, and put in the fridge until it’s firm

f.) Cut the dough into finger-wide strips (or hearts!) and put them on top, making sure they are firmly put on the edges.

g.) With the mixed egg, take a brush and  “paint” over the top of the dough

h.)  Bake for 30 – 40 minutes

It gets better as it gets older, but I seriously doubt that it will last more than a couple of hours, er, I mean days!

Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

