Easy Swiss Savory Tart

YUM! THIS IS HOW IT LOOKS!

As a woman over 50, I cannot be bothered with too many things these days.  I attribute that to me being a chicken without any eggs in her basket (i.e. menopause), but am glad to report that I am getting used to it!  I have even begun to play with the word “crone” and kind of like it!  And while I do love to cook and bake, I am not into following new recipes because I have so many good ones that are easy and taste wonderful.  I used to enjoy getting cooking magazines, but I no longer subscribe to anything because I don’t have time to read them.  I’ve had stacks and stacks of old Saveur magazines piled up for years, waiting for me to find the time to go through and cut out "only the good recipes" to try later.  The truth is that I have all the good recipes that I will probably ever need.  Happily, I feel the urge for "more" or "better" slipping away.  I do subscribe to several  food blogs now, and getting them in my inbox has taken the place of relaxing with a magazine that came in the mailbox at the end of my driveway.   I do so mainly because of the photos of the food that are really quite wonderful!  If you’ve read my posts before, you know that David Lebovitz is my favorite.  

Since I rarely eat out because I seldom enjoy it, I wanted to share something that is easy to make and very satisfying: my savory Swiss Tart recipe. 

ADDING SWISS CHARD FOR COLOR IS ESSENTIAL

The recipe below is just for the tart shell, and the filling can be whatever you have on hand.  With this one, I sauteed an onion and and some bacon in a skillet, added some chopped apples and some swiss chard for color, stir-frying it all together, splashed some white wine into the pan at the end and stirring it all up.  I let it cool, and take the pie crust I had made before that was in the fridge for an hour or so,  rolled it out,  put it in my quiche dish (with the parchment paper, of course), took a fork and punched holes all over the bottom.  Then I put some chopped walnuts on the bottom, cracked 2 eggs in a bowl and whisked that with about a cup of organic half and half, added a bit of salt and pepper, spread the cooled onion, bacon, swiss chard and apple mixture in the crust, and then poured the egg and cream mixture over it.

I put it in the lower level of the preheated 425 oven for about 15 minutes.  Then I turned it around and baked it for another 15 minutes.  I add some grated Swiss gruyere cheese on top (I think it gives the best taste) , and put it back in the oven, on the top rack, watching it really closely until it melted and turned a nice brown color.  I make a simple salad with some good wine, and voila!  Dinner for 2 that leaves nothing to be desired, and no obligation to tip for a mediocre meal.  Enjoy!

Sadhvi’s Secret Swiss Pie Crust

300 grams white flour (about a cup and a quarter)

About 1 teaspoon salt

150 grams of butter (again, about a cup and a quarter)

1 egg (not beaten!) with 4 T. half and half, organic if possible

Whisk the flour and the salt together in a bowl. Cut the butter up in pieces over it. Now mix it all together with your hands, squeezing and playing and putting good energy into it. When it starts to look golden yellow between your fingers & crumbly, you are done.

Now take a coffee cup and crack the egg into it.  Add the half and half, and mix it up with a fork. Add this to the flour and butter mixture. (At this point I take one of those bowl scrapers and combine it all to make a little roundish ball.  Do not knead!)  Take a piece of parchment paper and cut it out a bit bigger than your pie pan.  Put the dough on the paper, shaping it into a flat disk, and fold the edges of the paper over to close it.

Put in the fridge for a few hours, wrapped in a tea towel, or put it in a freezer bag and freeze.  I usually make up a bunch because they keep a long time, and I make a lot of tarts and quiches. When it’s time to make one, just take it out a few hours before you’re ready to roll it out.  Preheat oven to 425 degrees, put in your filling, and bake for 40-45 minutes, or until done.  You’ll know when…trust me…you’ve been a baker forever and just don’t know it!

SADHVI

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

