Beautiful Women over 50: Yvette the Powerful Crone!

When I turned 50 my Mom wanted to give me a broom for my birthday. I want that broom. I really want to be a Crone when I grow up: a Crone with a broom.

I want to be from a time where the wisdom of the elderly is sought after. I am trying to still be reaching forward instead of the free fall to the end of life.

That Red Hat Society, bless their hearts, has it all wrong in my perfect world. It’s not that we are free to do whatever we want now but that we speak and act with the wisdom of our years and experience.  The rest of the world sees this as senile.  That’s our society’s inside out way; we are permitted to be senile now.  Go ahead and wear purple and red together. We who are women over 50 are floating in that cast off world struggling to figure out our new identity.

Baba Yaga the Powerful Crone

Here’s the modern view of Crone from Wikipedia (that semi-serious popular culture voice of ours):

The Crone is a stock character in folklore and fairy tale, an old woman who is usually disagreeable, malicious, or sinister in manner, often with magical or supernatural associations that can make her either helpful or obstructing. 

She is marginalized by her exclusion from the reproductive cycle, and her proximity to death places her in contact with occult wisdom.  As a character type, the Crone shares characteristics with the hag.

She’s certainly no youthful beauty, but marginalized?  Well, I see her as powerful.

And I see my hot flashes as a type of downloading of wisdom.  I view myself as a Crone in the making.  Come with me you powerful women.  I have no idea where we can go because the path has become grown over with eons of strangling vines, but I do believe the path is right in front of us!

Yvette

So hand me my broom…but skip the pointy hat, please.

Yvette is a single mom of 3 (2 in college and one at home) who inadvertently swims upstream in most of life’s dealings. 

She’s a homeschooling Mom, runs her own business as an early childhood music educator (Have you ever heard a 10 week old baby sing?), a flute player, an avid reader, and runs the slow food kitchen in her house.  Given any free time at all she’ll knit and think.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

