Women over 50: the Easy Fall Garden!

Sadhvi

I didn’t think I could fit in any fall planting this year in my garden.  I went back and forth quite a bit in my head until a couple of weeks ago, there was a moment out of time where I found myself cleaning up a few beds and amending the soil with some composted manure without much effort. 

Sadhvi’s October White Zinnia

Sadhvi’s Favorite Salads for Fall

Often, I will make a big thing out of something that really does not take much time…it just has to BE the right time, the right moment!  I watered the beds well, and waited a few days until I sprinkled a mixture of leftover lettuce seed packets over them.  I did want some collards and didn’t have any seed, so I bought a 6 pack of starts for $2.39, planted them, and well, that was easy!   

"Firecracker vine"

There is Swiss chard from the spring that is still going strong too, which is why I always will have that wonderful vegetable in my garden.  So after a few weeks of doing nothing, there is so much salad that I am glad that I didn’t listen to my mind because I hate store bought lettuce; it’s expensive and it’s not fresh.  Just in case you  have the weather for fall planting where you live, you might want to plant something that you like to eat, because it is so worth it with little actual effort!

Sadhvi’s Fall Garden 2

Sadhvi’s Pink Zinnia in October

To see the post on the blog go to:

http://www.oops50.com/the-easy-fall-garden/

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

